The US Supreme Court has ruled President Donald Trump’s travel ban on six mainly Muslim countries can go fully into effect.

Seven of the nine justices granted the administration’s request to lift injunctions imposed by lower courts. But the directive against travellers from Chad, Iran, Libya, Somalia, Syria and Yemen still faces legal challenges.

Read Also  Maame Dokono Denies Suffering Heart Attack

The ruling covers the third version of President Trump’s controversial policy that he has issued since taking office. The presidential proclamation also imposed restrictions on travellers from North Korea and some Venezuelan government officials. Those provisions have already been approved by lower courts.

Read Also  VIDEO: 'Doggy Style' Leads As Ghanaians Share Their Favorite Sex Positions

In striking down the other parts, lower court judges had cited Mr Trump’s campaign description of his policy as a “Muslim ban”. Further arguments will be heard this week by federal courts in San Francisco, California, and Richmond, Virginia.

Read Also  Kim Kardashian Denies 'Photoshop Fail' On Instagram

In June, the Supreme Court allowed an earlier version of the ban to take partial effect. In the same ruling, the justices approved the Trump administration’s 120-day ban on all refugees entering the US, except for those with a “bona fide” US connection.


Facebook Comments